: Share Your Story

Discuss what it's really like with your peers

7 replies

Codeine addiction

Hi, this is my very first time on here, although I’ve been reading thru all your stories, and taking great heart an help with my own problems

So here goes,

I’m a 56yr old woman married , 2 grown up sons an grandson, a husband who I adore. You wonder why I ended up relying on this evil tablet? Well as we all know it creeps up when you’re not looking, and consumes your very being, I started on a couple of Solp max etc, then at my worst, I was taking a combination of solp max and Nuro plus, in total 540mg per day.

In the end I just had to say to myself, and I mean , no one else on earth knows about this, I couldn’t carry on, plotting and planning where my next “fix” would come from, driving miles to buy from chemists that don’t know me, the shame and the anxiety has made me so ashamed.

So today .... I’ve been tapering off on a scale of reducing 12mg every day, at first I didn’t feel any withdrawal symptoms, however I’m now on the final hurdle, today I’m only taking 2 , tabs, so 24 mg! But the anxiety and insomnia and joint pains and crying, and I won’t go into the toilet problems!! But I’m totally focused, I’ve been kept going by reading your stories every day, and felt it time that i joined in.

My last 12mg is tomorrow, I’m prepared for the rubbish that’s coming my way, I’ve invested in freeze spray for my joints, that helps a bit, I’ve got Nytol for helping sleep, which helps a bit, I’ve got magnesium and vit C with Zinc, all of which I’m not sure help but I feel at least I’m doing something more positive!

I will keep checking in on here, I love to see that there’s a light at the end of the tunnel.

I keep telling myself it won’t last forever, and eventually I’ll be able to drive past a chemist without going in! How wonderful will that be, not to mention the financial side !

Good luck to you all, let’s beat this evil pill, it should NOT be sold!!