: Drugs, alcohol and mental health

Discuss the twin challenges of mental health and substance use

17 replies

My codeine addiction

I am a 28 year old, female and I have been addicted to codeine since 2012, and this is my first time ever admitting it to anyone. No one knows, I'm good at hiding it.

It all started after surgery in 2012, I was given codeine to help with the pain and I then started buying it online. I got to the point where I was taking 12x 30mg tablets 4-5x daily. Every single day! That's 1800mg a day and some days I would even take more. Some days I'd take 2500mg.

The thing is, I like taking it, I'm functional on it and it makes me feel happy, but I'm so determined to stop. I'm in so much debt that it's all I can think about, I must spend £700 a month on codeine and it's disgusting. It's time to stop.

I'm tapering down. I have 112 tablets left to taper down from and I can't afford to buy anymore either.

Does anyone have any advice on how I can cope with the withdrawal? I'm so f***ing determined to get my life back.

I'm taking citalopram (prescribed) and multivitamins.

I got down to 9 30mg tablets 4x daily and now I'm on 7 30mg tablets 4x daily. My plan is to go to 6x4 tablets tomorrow, 5x4 the next day, then 4x4, then 3x4, then 2x4 and the 1x4 and then nothing. I know this is fast, but like I said I just can't afford to buy anymore now.

So far I feel okay, somehow.

Any help, advice or support would be greatly appreciated. I really need some help right now.

Thank you

replying to Addictunlikely

I am no expert but maybe try and get some help, to support you mentally as well as with the physical withdrawal. My husband did a supported detox for alcohol and I don’t think he could of done it without the support. You are absolutely amazing, you have admitted to yourself that you have a problem and are grabbing it by the balls to get your life back. Good luck

2 replies