At my wits end

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      cupcakes
      Participant

Hi, I’m new to this and maybe just needed a place to vent, but I’m realizing this is beyond venting and an actual problem outside my control. I’ve been married to an addict for 10 years now and I’m really at a loss. I let a lot go in order not to rock the boat. Problem is, boat is rocking and about to capsize. I really am lost, I’m always the bad guy and always tip toeing. I love my husband but I’m also just fed up. There is never a sober moment so I can never talk to him. I cry every night and I just don’t know what to do. I have a lot of resentment as I have been the only one working for the past 3 years and it is a high stress job and every day I come to either someone drunk, passed out or in a panic attack because of bad decisions from the night before. I have really tried to be understanding and help. But maybe I’m the reason or a nag but this is beyond my control and I really don’t know what to do. I can’t tell friends or family because that will not help the situation. If I ask him to look for a job, in the most supportive way, I’m the asshole that is pressuring him. Meanwhile I’m working my ass to the bone and under all the stress and I’m starting to crack. I’m breaking apart trying to hold this all together and keep it to myself. I can’t handle this much longer and don’t know what to do.

cupcakes
      Participant

I hate to do this, however, I have been reading on alanon and other sites and it really upsets me that everything is always a walk around for an alcoholic and their abusive ways. I am already terrified and embarrassed enough to even discuss with strangers and looking at these sites where the addict is excused away just gets me. I guess I’ll just always have to clean up the mess and cover up because this is the role we are given. I will lie and cover up everything and let the abuse continue.

lovemybabies123
      Participant