Caring for teen of addicted parents – one now deceased

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      sybill02
      Participant

I’m not sure I can make this short, but I’ll try. I have been caring for my niece for the last 3 years. My sister, a mother of 3 has been a pills/heroin addict for 15+ years. She is supposedly a recovering addict but I believe still relies on Kratom. We can’t be sure because she is also a pathological liar and to this day still lies about working etc. In 2018 she moved out of state with her youngest kids and their father who is also an alcoholic/substance abuser and physical abuser. My sister refused to give custody because she would have to admit abandonment and she doesn’t believe that is what she did. My niece has been a part of our family because the substance abuse started when she was 2 and we have always tried to keep her involved since it was the only way to know she was okay. Gaining custody of her was impossible back then because they didn’t consider her mother unfit and my sister refused to give her up. Her father wasn’t present until she was around 11 and she had to go live with him because of an issue with her mother and the boyfriend. He was an alcoholic, party guy and if it wasn’t for the girlfriends he had, my niece wouldn’t have been taken care of then either. She lived with him off and on for 4 years (flip-flopping between his house and my parents). In 2018 when my sister moved out of state, my parents (whom my niece adored) moved out of state also and 2 months later her father died of a heroin overdose. So 3 major events in the span of 4 months. I never knew her father was an addict. I always thought he was just an alcoholic absent father.