Cocaine, lies and resentment.

Viewing 40 reply threads
  • Author
      hw12
      Participant

Its my first time posting, after reading on here for a while. Me and my partner have been together for 2 years. I have 2 children from a previous relationship who most of the time my partner is great with. We got engaged and had hopes for the future.

I knew when we first me he had dabbled in cocaine but 18 months in i didnt realise how bad his problem was.

He was in deep depression and nothing like the person i fell in love with, he had lied, accused me of all sorts, got angry with me, paranoid, and put me through hell, spent days in bed, lost job after job from not getting up, alot of the time not provided any financial support to the home. There has always been one thing after another and i have supported him. Hes now on antidepressants, and hasnt been using cocaine for a while. Although there has been an occasion i found out he had used but a while ago now.

He has done the things iv wanted him to do but i cant help feeling gull of resentment and anger towards him. Like he’s ruined what we had and now we are left with this. Him feeling better and im just a mess that’s supported him through it all. Im struggling more with it now than at the time. Can anyone relate?

thelostone
      Participant

My boyfriend destroyed our relationship with his drug use. Once the trust is gone, it’s almost certainly never going to come back.

To feel emotions such as anger, resentment, bitterness is perfectly human. If you are not able to talk this through and make sense of it, it can get worse. I take it you are not able to talk to your partner about how you feel…? What exactly are you getting out of the relationship except for providing him the support and care he needs? Are your emotional needs being met?

hw12
      Participant

Thank you for replying.