Crack

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      vitaleyes
      Participant

Hi, I have never done anything like this before but wanted to give it a try.

I am an ex soldier who struggles with PTSD, throughout the last 7 years I have turned to drugs to get me through my down days.

Before I knew it I was addicted! Trying to kick a crack addiction has been the hardest thing I have had to do.

After lots of counselling and therapy I have managed to to kick the habit and was clean for nearly 2 years, but things have started to slip and I have found myself using on the odd occasion around once a month this has happened for the last 3 months now. The signs are there and I am struggling to understand it all.

Why is this happening ? And why can’t I control this better?

Has anyone else had this happen?

Am I still classed an addict if I use once a month?

Any advice would be great

Thanks

K

mestre
      Participant

Im not a crack addict and no experience of that, but I understand that trying to crack addiction was the hardest thing you have had to do. I think it might still be addiction even if its only once a month. Sounds like you are still suffering with your PTSD and you sound like you are not happy about it.

Can you go back to your counselling or get some other help now before you slip to far back into addiction?.

vitaleyes
        Participant

Thanks for your message, I have a therapist which I am in contact with on a 2 week basis for now.

I have recently just broken up with my partner. And my mum is terminal with cancer so I am thinking it’s them problems that are adding to the addiction cycle. The self maintenance part has been a struggle to be honest. But have to keep moving forward to be able to beat this

mholmes
          Participant