First post – very worried about my boyfriend’s Cocaine use

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      dee71
      Participant

Hi Everyone,

This is totally new for me, but I’m so glad to have found somewhere that I am hoping I can get some words of wisdom or advice.

I have been in a long distance relationship with my boyfriend who lives on one of the Spanish islands for 12 years now, but ever since I have been with him, there has been a big issue between us and that is his use of Cocaine.

About me – I am a former nurse. I’ve seen my fair share of drug users and am well aware of the damage that drugs can do. My boyfriend works in a beach bar in one of the resort areas. His work has of course the typical ‘happy place’ atmosphere and vibe and this is mirrored in his personality and he has a ‘live and enjoy for today’ mentality.

When I travel over twice a year to see him, I spend some time down at his bar and then on his day off – or days when he is working late the next day, he comes over to my accommodation to see and stay with me. This is where his Coke use comes up. He claims that because he is tired after working and wants to be with me intimately, he takes a couple of lines of Cocaine to ‘give him energy’. What is more he does the drugs in my place, which we have had several rows about as I don’t want him to do that and have asked him several times not to before. He claims that as the drug effects of Cocaine are short lasting, he ‘has to take it’ when he arrives at my place.

After he takes the drug, he literally is awake the whole night long. His sex drive goes through the roof and as much as I love him and our physical relationship, he literally hassles me for sex all night long, which I cannot cope with physically speaking and the fact I just need to sleep at some point. At the same time he knocks back copious amount of booze, so the whole night is basically overtaken by him bouncing off of the walls.