He wants to stop drinking

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      spaced229
      Participant

I’m new to the world or drinking and drugs. It’s been a steep learning curve. My partner started drinking in his mid twenties, he’d also been doing whatever drugs he could get his hands on. I can’t equate that with who I know now in his early 40’s. We’ve been together a little over 6 months and it’s become more than apparant that his weed/drinking is more of a dependency than a hobby. We’re knocking on for a fortnight without a joint and he seems to be doing well without it but then again, I’ve only ever known him on the stuff. The drinking is more of an issue. He proposed dry January himself and did well for a while. He can stop for a few days at a time and never drink drives. He also never hides his drinking and pays me the rent/bill money as soon as he gets paid. We are open with eachother but I’d really like to broach the topic of alcoholics anonymous and don’t know how it’s going to go down. He’s not really a support group type of guy but he spent most of today throwing up out of an upstairs window, feels hideous and says he’s never going to drink again. He’s laid at the side of me now asleep but with his heart beating out his chest and I’m so worried I’ll lose him. He’s supported me through my mental health difficulties and I want to do the same for him with this. He is kind, has never threatened or hurt me and has been so wounded as a child, watching his dad leather his mum, no family, older brother killed himself about a year before we met. I’m certain I want a future with this man and will do anything I can to see it happen. Thank you x

danman83
      Participant

Hey there.. i think its obvious why he drinks, with the bad things hes been through in his past. Maybe he needs some councilling for all whats happend. But i could be wrong.