Help with drinking?

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      cawmkultra
      Participant

Hello, I’m a 30 year old from cambs and for the last 3 years I’ve been struggling with addiction to alcohol, I never used to drink but following the death of my only two friends I started having a few to be able to sleep and it has now progressed into me drinking at least 70cl of whiskey and a pint of beer a night (I’m a very routine person so it’s always the same) I’ve been drinking this quantity for a few years now and am noticing health deteriorating. I really want to stop for the sake of my partner and son but I don’t really know where to start. I’ve been told cold turkey could cause a stroke or worse but I clearly don’t have the self control to deal with this. Is there anything that can help or is this just who I am? I’ve tried local GP and local help but I’m looking at a few months before I even get seen (other than assessment) Thank you for taking the time to read this I hope you all have a wonderful day.

Ableton
      Participant

Stopping cold turkey is not a good idea. Have you contacted your local drug and alcohol support services?

cawmkultra
        Participant

I have, but there’s such a long waiting time I’m worried knowing me I’ll go back to the “I’ll just stop tomorrow” I have an assessment on Monday so hopefully they can provide some advice. I just got worried cause I spoke to a helpline today and they said because of funding you can be waiting for up to 8 months and I think that’s freaked me out a bit. I can no longer straighten my left arm and on my left arm I can spots of blood coming out where my veins are but I just get the run around when I call for help, even 111 hasn’t been much help but it doesn’t help I’m in a small village where the local gp can’t keep up (not their fault)

cawmkultra
      Participant

Have* sorry my typing is aweful lol

MarkyMark
      Participant

Hi Caw