Hey everyone

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      feelinglost46
      Participant

I’m feeling lost and I have nobody I can talk to in person about any of this. Especially not anybody that will understand.

I’ve been with my fiance for almost five years. September 29th will be five years. We met playing hockey, a sport we both love. And he has helped me so much to get better at it (I was a noob when we met and he grew up playing and is really good lol).

When we started dating a long time ago, he was honest with me from the get go. He had been to prison for possession and was on parole. He had a history of prescription drug use after his time serving in Afghanistan. When we started dating, he had been clean for almost a year. He also has two children, but not by me and they live with their mothers out of state.

Fast forward a year into our relationship, he proposed. I said yes. A little while later he relapsed… And I think the trigger was his son leaving to go home after spending the summer here with us. Only it’s evolved into cocaine use. He started going to a state methadone center to get help after I found out he relapsed. He didn’t tell me because he was ashamed, and I discovered it after I realized I was missing a decent sum of money from savings. At that point, I told him point blank that I will not marry him if he can’t prove to me he cannot remain sober. I don’t want that to be my future. I told him he would have five years of my life to prove that he can be worth my future.