Honest advice and opinions

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      lost83
      Participant

I’ve never really posted on anything like this so here goes. I’m a mental health nurse so I do deal with drug users in a professional manner a lot but when it’s personal it’s different.

I first met my partner back in 1999 as teenagers, we dated for a bit, he went to prison and honestly I was a bit shitty and left him while he was in there. In my defence I was 15 and could see the path he was going down. Fast forward 21 years and we re connect. He told me he got clean and a job and things were going well. We started dating and the spark was still there. Then after a few months everything went wrong. He started stealing off me for crack money, cheating on me, disappearing for days, ringing me up telling me he was going to kill him self on his come downs and I found out he was using again. I found out all the bad things he’s done to his ex partners while on drugs and he landed himself in prison again. 6 months later he clean and like a different person with a thousand sorts and how it’s gunna be different. This man has children, past long term relationships and he’s never changed. His relies date is in less than two months and do I believe him and give him another chance? He’s always been in relationships with other drug user and I’m not but I still have the doubt of why am I any different to change for? Cause he’s said he’s changing for himself loads of times and he’s not not even for his kids. Over 20 years of crack abuse what do I do? Stand by him or am I being nieve?

ronnieboyne
      Participant

Hi! I’m so sorry to hear what you are going through – being the partner of a drug addict is nothing short of hell on earth.