Husband

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      blondie
      Participant

I am 60 years old and my husband is 48 we have been married for 18 years, have a beautiful home, a 2nd house we rent out, 2 lovely cars, no financial worries and our lovely 2 dogs. I always knew my husband could drink a lot soicially, but he never drank every day, or sat around indoors drinking. he had a very troubled childhood his father left his mother when he was 7 and his sister 8, and it came to lioght his mother was actually an alcoholic and hiding it for years, her father was an alcoholic and sexually abused her and put her in care when her mother left, and his uncle is also an alcoholic. He has always worked hard and was prmoted to a management post 11 years ago and we moved to a new area, I am a nurse and obtained a transfer, we enjoyed our life. Then 5 years ago, he started suffering from anxiety, stress, and depression, and his drinking was out of control tgo blot out work, he could not go to work for 6 months and was on medication but did not tell the GP about his drinkiing and so I told the GP, who offered to help him and gave a good telling off to him, telling him he would lose me and our home. He listened and for a while stopped drinking. When he realised they were trying to force him out at work he started again, eventually he accused them of constructive dismissal and left with a payout. He wanted to go into the Prison Service as he had been in the Army and he had always wanted to do this., after extensive screening, in terviews, psychologists reports he was accepted for training and went to their College for 4 Months, he was on top if the world. He then went to an open prison and seemed to love it there, we wanted to move back to our original area to be near family, as I took retirement, and he agreed to it all, and transferred to another prison which was not open, but lock down with some awful prisoners. He had a hard 8 months as he had to stay in the area, on his own and