I think I’m an addict and I need help

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      mjt9982
      Participant

I’ve been taking cocaine for quite some time. Not huge amounts , half a g to a full g here and there mainly on nights out. Recreational use only. But more recently I’ve been doing it most weekends again not huge amounts but still it’s becoming a habit. I don’t feel I can go out without it and I hate the person it turns me into when I’m on it! I think I need help I’m very worried about myself

dfh
      Participant

By chance I joined on here again this morning actually as someone who’s partner is an addict.

I have some personal experience of what you are going through, I turned to cocaine to cope with another’s addiction.

I ended up like you doing it all the time after I thought I had it under control.

What I found worked was to remind myself of all the bad parts like no sleep, the cost and the sleepless nights. I distracted myself at the point I craved. It’s hard but I did it. Not sure if this helps you but couldn’t read and not post.

mjt9982
      Participant

Thankyou. I’m going to try that. I’m 100% committed to knocking it on the head before it gets out of control. I’m not expecting it to be easy but I know I’ll do it. In the week I’m fine it’s the weekends when the craving becomes an issue

dfh
      Participant

Exactly same as I was. It was ridiculous. I started looking at it as paying money to feel crap essentially. I do still have times where I think about it but I try and skip to the rough bits. I think – I actually need a full nights sleep so I it’s not a possibility anyway. Keep in mind blocked nose, feeling crap and wasted money. Spend the money on something worthwhile, it helps to treat yourself in a different way. It was hard but I persevered as like you I was ready to stop. Cravings last 5 minutes max. Get busy until it passes. Honestly you can do it.

danman83
      Participant