Is taking cocaine once or twice a week an addiction?

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      zoeg
      Participant

Hi everyone

Seems a silly question but my partner takes coke once or maybe twice a week. He doesn’t think this is a problem because he manages to not take it in between.

But – he can’t NOT go without even though it’s only once or twice a week. He takes about 1 gram each time in one night and uses it on his own.

I want him to stop but he doesn’t think it’s an issue – I’d really appreciate peoples thoughts on this as he makes me feel I’m being naive saying, ‘everyone does it’.

zoeg
      Participant

Just bumping this up in the hope someone can give their take on this

lindyloo
        Participant

Hi ZoeG, welcome to the forum. Everyone here has a loved one with an addiction in one way or another. There are also people in recovery offering support and advice.

I’m no expert although my son is currently in early recovery from alcohol and cocaine addictions.

He thinks he should just be able to give it up, but cocaine is a very addictive drug, it leaves you wanting more.

Read Danman83 posts, he too believed he could take or leave it, but every day is a battle for people in recovery.

I personally think he should quit before it gets out of hand as it can wreck a family’s/partner’s life.

It WILL become an issue for both of you. The CA fellowship groups are a great support, they are the only ones who have helped my son stop and stay clean.

The situation can change very quickly, he could run into debt, lose his job. Please try to get him to nip it in the bud before this happens.

Help and support is there if he’s will to accept he has a problem.

Good luck and keep in touch here.

Lx

zoeg
          Participant

Sorry Lindyloo, I missed your reply. He’s been doing it for about 20 yrs. I’ve known him for less than a year so he’s an old hand at this. He keeps saying he needs stability and for us to live together for him to quit.