Just when you think things cannot get any worse …….

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      centralscot
      Participant

So, big deep breath and time to get some of the burden I have been carrying about for 3 years off my chest.

Been together with this fantastic guy for nearly 15 years. First 12 years were great and just ‘normal’.

Three years ago started to suspect something was not quite right … although he probably hid it well over the first year, but things progressively worse since then. I honestly never thought he would touch drugs as we were both very anti drugs.

Usual problems started to become apparent – higher than average spending, late nights, disappearing for days … but there were always excuses … which were plausible.

Things seemed to calm down, went on holiday to Vegas last August and ended up getting married. However, as soon as we returned home, things started to build to a point, where at my wits end, I contacted local GP and he was sectioned for 7 days. Admitted to me that he had a major cocaine addiction (worse than I ever imagined). The cocaine addiction seems to also have lead to an alcohol dependence.

Since last August, this has literally been a year from hell. Really vicious arguments on a daily basis – the ones that really cut to the bone with some of the things that are said. Sometimes its like playing bingo as I can almost guarantee what things are going to be thrown in my face – I can sit there with the board and pen and mark them off.

I now cannot remember the last time life felt normal. The definition of normal seems to change on a weekly basis, but I just feel like I am going further and further into the rabbit hole.