Living with alcoholic partner

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      diana26
      Participant

Hi I’m new to all this, but I have scoured the internet looking for help and advice on how to live with an alcoholic and think a chat like this might help with other people who understand me…

I have been with my partner for 5 years now and living together for 3 and a half and I’m finding it increasingly difficult to live with his alcohol abuse. When I first met him he was a bad binge drinker but at the time I was single and young so liked a good drink at the weekend also but that was my limit as I work full time Monday to Friday. He had also come out of a long relationship where a kid was born and the ex stopped all contact to his child due to his drinking. I came to learn that throughout his childhood he was brought up surrounded by drink and his mother and sister still like a good drink to this day. As the years have passed his drinking comes and goes and some times can be for days on end and he disappears with friends for at least 1-2 days with no contact and at its worst been up to 4 days. I helped him get into work which seemed to calm him down.a bit but for a while worked with friends which in turn made him drink on the job and on lunch breaks. He has now had an injury to his finger on the building site so cant work for nearly 6 weeks and due to this virus. I have seen a rise in his drinking again. He seems to reach for booze any time anyone in his life passes or if we even have a daft argument he needs a drink or could be having a bad day at work and he comes home smelling of booze. I cant even trust him to go visit a friend caus it always results in him drinking. He still currently has no access to his child as he has failed 2 hair sample tests for his drink levels.