Living with an Alcoholic mum

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      ylrk18p1
      Participant

Hi my mum has been an alcoholic for years but I have only just realised in the past year. It has became very serious in terms of drinking and driving and attending work under the influence. I am a nursing student and am in my 2nd year I’m struggling to balance this as its in my mind constantly worrying about my mums wellbeing. It was bad and constant last year and at Christmas 2022. She was sober for around 4 months after January 2023 and recently has relapsed in May time. She drinks on and off, for example she works nightshifts 3/4 nights a week, she will be sober here, then drink on her days off, this could be 2 bottles of white wine or a 35cl bottle of gin. Although me and my dad (Me, my mum, and dad all live together) have been having suspicions about her attending her work drunk. She has also scratched up her car that she shares with my dad and we know for a fact this is because she was under the influence. I have tried to speak to her drunk and sober and I get the same reply which is “I can’t believe you are getting so low and depressed over me its pathetic, get a life and let me live because I’m an adult” I feel like I’ve lost all hope and that I’ve tried everything. It is taking so much out of me; lying to family members so they don’t find out, missing days of nursing placement/work to look after her, struggling with uni work and living a normal life. I can see her eyes going yellow, and just in general can see her deteriorating, my mums beautiful and now she just looks like a completely different individual. My mum would never hurt me but she is so rude when she is drunk it makes me feel so low, I feel so angry all the time I can no longer be patient with her. I found 4 bottles of white wine, 5 bottles of dry gin (medium sized) in the bin, I don’t know the time frame these have been taken over but it just hurts so so much, its like I’m practically watching her