Living with my brother (a cocaine addict)

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      pennyloo
      Participant

About 8 months ago now, my brother got caught cheating on his girlfriend and was forced to move home with my mum and myself. For context, I am a 25 year old student on an intense medical university course which involves a lot of early hour mornings and driving for work placements in order to qualify. My brother is 35, had a rough childhood, always put on a brave face as he is the oldest of 3 siblings. When my brother moved back home he was not taking good care of himself and seemed every erratic and drank alot. At the time me and my mum thought we was going through a break up phase but slowly in time he started going out late at night, drinking bottles of rum and then making up an emergency situation that he ‘needed’ to drive to help someone. We begged him not to but time and time again he would go. We realised slowly that he was taking cocaine as well as drinking but he never once let on and always denied any involvement in that. He started to have a couple breakdowns insisting that he had bugs in his room or that bugs had a vendetta against him. He would play big repellent videos on YouTube off his tv and even purchased plug in bug repellers. He would pour tea tree and lavender everywhere but told us it was to help him sleep, I had a Google and realised people suggested it for bed bugs so I believe that was the real reason. About a month ago he woke us up in the night screaming that something was trying to hold him down and open his mouth. He was scared it was going to kill him, he could feel it around his neck and saw doors open and things move that didn’t. He had taken drugs that night and when he finally calmed down he was open and said he’s been doing it but he needs to stop and that he will. After that he was doing well for about a week, he said he didn’t need help and that he won’t do it again. But he is still having days off work in his room, leav