Mum

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      rolypoly
      Participant

My mum is an alcoholic.
      She has always liked a drink but since she gave up work 9 years ago to retire,she has become much worse.
      I don’t know what to do anymore.I’m a professional person who works with people with addiction problems on a daily basis.
      My Mum used to be a lovely,nice person and she still is in many ways.But,she has started lying about her alcohol use.She saw an alcohol counsellor a few years ago but lied to them about her use.She used to try hard to cover things up but most of the time now she is not bothered.
      It came to a head for me over the past couple of weeks as I have seen her(I live elsewhere and don’t see her often enough).She lies to my stepdad about her drinking and she lies to us(the children,I’m 39 and my siblings are older).I confronted her when she was drunk last week and she admitted there was a problem but is still in denial.I know that talking to her when she was drunk wasn’t the best idea.I told her she’s ruining her health,her life and her relationships and the person I was looking at was not my Mum.I’m not looking for answers but feel like I am dealing with this on my own.I know I can’t do anything until she makes the decision to change which I don’t think she will.Thanks for listening.

kathan
      Participant

So hard for you.
      Take care x