Mum has been an alcoholic for most of my life – Worse in the past 5 years.

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      cd1423
      Participant

Hey,

So im new to this and im not sure where to really start, I’ve always wanted some advice or support but not known where to turn to outside of family. I Guess I should start with a brief overview.

My parents have/had been married nearly 30 years, me, and my brother had an amazing up bringing, nothing I can remember that stuck out to me as negative. Once I turned 18 I noticed a changes in my mums behaviour. These changes grew that rapid that eventually I could tell she’d had a drink even by her hand actions.

Again, this is a very brief overview.

But after years on end of trying, trying to talk to her one to one, each one of us, it would always end up in the same vicious circle. Thurs – Mon drunk day in day out Tue-wed – Sober, I would dread Wednesday nights. Im now nearly 26, but I remember at 19/20 making her cups of tear at 5pm in hope that she wouldn’t drink that evening, and id sit and plead with her to speak to me and I would do everything she wanted. Years went by and I fell pregnant with my youngest son who’s now 3. I remember being 9 months pregnant, at this point she was drinking that much her hands would shake, constantly.

I drove us to a local costa and tried to involve her in everything baby wise because I knew she loved that, I would take her everywhere with me, appointment, shopping just to make her feel included and wanted.

Once I had my son things were ok, but only just. fast forward a year, things grew that bad me and my dad would dread answering phone calls of unknown number, as we knew someone had found her on a pavement drunk, this happened weekly.