My Dad is going to lose everything if he can’t stay sober.

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      rhona
      Participant

My Dad is an alcoholic. I am 33, not sure when this started it sometime seems like it’s been this way for a long long time but it hasn’t, probably about 10 years,few more maybe..
      He is the best Dad in the world. Except for he can’t stop drinking when he starts. He is not violent or nasty or a horrible drinker at all – most people who aren’t close to him don’t even know about his problem. He is caring, intelligent, loving he just has an addiction to alcohol which is ruining his life. & mine. and my Mum’s.

My problem is split in two –
      1. I love my Dad – want to see him enjoying life, being healthy and keeping my Mum happy which is not easy, she has issues of her own.
      2. I work in the family business which is not easy at the best of times.

This all came out in the open about 6 years ago – my Dad was arrested for drinking driving. It was one of the worst days of my life. That sounds over dramatic but it was just awful. To think of my Dad in a cell. It broke my heart. They arrested him at 7 in the morning, they kept him in all day and all night and they took him to the court in the morning. He was ill without a drink. He came home shaking. It was awful. After this he stopped drinking for about a year I think.
      In this time he nursed his elderly Mum and Dad until they passed away – 2 weeks between them. He was so strong in this time.

I don’t remember when he started drinking again but he did. And the time he stopped for each time became shorter and shorter. Now he can stop for 2 – 3 weeks max before he starts again and that’s him for again usually a few weeks.