Newbie here.

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      anonymousgirl
      Participant

Hey, so I just need somewhere to vent and see if someone has gone through something similar.

Since the age of 12 I’ve had a weird relationship with alcohol. At age 16 I broke down to my dad because I couldn’t stop drinking, I was drinking every weekend, drinking weekdays at school and after school. The same throughout college too. Then I stopped drinking for quite a while but would drink every now and then. I’m now nearly 25 and the last 2 years everytime I’ve drank alcohol I’ve heavily binge drinked. I’ll go out at 1pm and won’t get home until 8am. The next day or 2 I’ll be shakey, have blurred vision, pins and needles in my hands.

I wouldn’t say I’m addicted to the point I feel like I need a drink everyday but when I do have a drink I find it very hard to stop. I can’t drink in moderation and just have a couple. I’ve said to myself and those around me that I’m not going to drink again, the more I say that the more I think about alcohol.

Ideally, I’d like to be able to just go out and have 1 or 2 drinks and be able to stop but how do I do that? I struggle so much. I can’t go out with friends and see them drinking without having a drink myself, difference is they get a bit drunk and go home but I can’t stop so I continue drinking excessive amounts until the point I can barely function. I think I enjoy it so much because when I am drunk I forget about all of the stress and bad things in life. But in the long run the binge drinking is making extra problems for me, especially with my loved ones.

What do I do? Is there help out there for someone like me?

Thanks for reading.

danman83
      Participant

Hiya anonymous girl, I’m Danny and I’m over 4 month clean from cocaine now and alcohol. I was never a bad drinker or I’d say alcoholic but I have had to admit I am an alcoholic as well. As it comes hand in hand.