Not just us

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      notjustme
      Participant

Hi everyone
      I am new to this and writing because it is something I have needed to do for ages.
      I want to tell my story but it is a very long one, so I am going to strip it down.
      My son is 30 years old but he’s been smoking cannabis (and doing other things with it too!) since he was a teenager.
      I never condoned his habit- I have always taken the tough love approach, never giving him cash (ok-there have been times- he’s very manipulative) and he left me to go and live with his dad when he was 16 because his dad was softer than me). I always thought that if left alone one day a light would come on and he would see things clearly- but he has now been taking cannabis for half of his life and I cannot see that it will stop.
      In short he is a wreck- he gave up his job- he has no where to live, he has never been in a stable relationship and his ‘friends’ are leaving him. I haven’t seen him for three months or heard from him in weeks, but I know he’s ok because he still has a bolt hole at his dad’s, although he spends most of his time riding around on his bike and sleeping outdoors. He doesn’t claim any benefits and won’t engage with health services.
      He has always lived in a fantasy world where cannabis will be seen to cure all diseases known to man and that it all he needs to live on.
      He has cut all contact with my side of the family and including his own sister, but he thought a lot of his paternal grandad who died recently. I went to the funeral yesterday and my son didn’t turn up. It didn’t surprise me but now it seems he doesn’t want contact with any of the family and his dad seems to be the only person he has regular contact with, but his dad has mental health problems of his own and isn’t coping very well.
      Just now, I am back to where I always finish up, feeling absolutely frustrated and isolated.