Partner cocaine addiction & psychosis

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      unhappy23
      Participant

Hello this is my first time writing on anything like this but I just feel impossibly stuck. My partner of 13 years and father of our very young children is a cocaine addict. He suffers with chronic pain which is difficult enough but I am being subjected to regular bouts of cocaine induced psychosis where he accuses me of having another man in the house (who he then looks for). He can ‘hear’ him and everything. He struggled with cocaine a few years ago but stopped, however has now been doing it for most of this year on and off. I recently left for a week with the kids and was told he would never touch it again, wouldn’t even drink because its a trigger. He did a week of nothing while we were gone. We came back and he had been to work that day and had drinks with work colleagues. When I questioned him drinking he then told me he only meant at home. He had told me he would tell people he wasn’t drinking because of his meds but when I said this he basically said it was only a couple. He then left late at night and obviously bought cocaine which was then my fault because the argument had triggered it. I’ve pointed out that he has said all these things and not stuck to them. I am being blamed and told that if I was more supportive and positive it would help him give up. I’m so fed up of being let down and fooled into thinking he will actually do the things he says. I guess I’m just looking for someone to tell me if I’m the arsehole foe being fed up and taking the kids away from it all or if I’m doing the right thing

Ahurtwife
      Participant