ruined relationship

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      just-me
      Participant

Hi
      I’m new to this so please bare with me. My partner, well ex partner now has never hidden the fact that he used to use cocaine and was an addict. Our relationship was a whirl wind and we were due to get married this November. I have 2 children from a previous relationship who totally adored him. Throughout the relationship most weeks were a roller coaster, he would be on top of the world one minute and then the next day threatening to kill himself and going missing for a few hours. I suppose I sort of thought he had bipolar or something. I took him to docs who put him on citalopram and they did help until the roller coaster started again. Then yesterday he admitted he never stopped taking Cocaine and I had to put my hold kids first and told him to leave. I don’t know what to do he really is a good person but his addiction has completely wrapped itself around him and will not let go. I don’t know where he is but I am regularly getting texts from him saying how bad he feels it’s almost like there is no thought for the mess he’s left behind. I love him so so much but the addiction seems to come before me. I’ve told him there is a chance for us if he seeks help and maybe a few months down the line we could see where he is. I just don’t know. I’m grieving for the man I love maybe he never existed maybe the whole relationship was a lie. I’m just a mess. Any advice would be appreciated.

cant-take-no-more
      Participant