The documentary you wish you saw

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      stephen
      Participant

Don’t you wish, you had information before trying or information on how to deal with a loved one and what truly ticks through and addicts mind? I know I wish I had that. Hello .a stand up, crack and heroin addict. I’m not using now but I know it’s always one step away. I used it to fill a hole in my life that would be stand up. I want to share my stories with a wider audience as I have an ability to perfectly express a situation please look at this link and if you can pass it to people you think would want to hear more.. gf.me/u/zh34aw. Pls spread

ronnieboyne
      Participant

Hi Stephen

Thank you for this post. I will look up the link now but firstly let me say really well done you! I have been a partner aka nurse, carer, mother and general punching bag to a heroin addict for over 5 years. I read the heroin additction site every single day in order to try to understand the situation from the addicts point of view and yet still I cannot accept the choices he made with all the help and support he had to get clean. And yet there are some who have no one and no support yet manage to turn their lives around. I would love to hear how you managed to do this even though I am no longer with my partner (if you could call him that) I don’t believe in the hitting rock bottom message – being homeless in the freezing cold begging on the streets with no friends at all panicking about your next hit even as you are banging up would be rock bottom in my opinion … but no it wasn’t at all. Even when he was happy, no triggers or stress he would use and it was almost as if he didn’t believe that he could hang on to genuine happiness, leaving to score whilst things were still good if that makes any sense.