Where do I go from here

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      poppy
      Participant

My Nephew (Chris)who is 37 has alway been a cause of exacerbation to me, but he is such a lovely chap, very polite, loving etc.

His parents divorced when he was about 8-10yrs old, sorry I am not very good with ages. His mother ran off with another man, and she took the children with her.

She now lives in Australia, with this man and my other nephew.

My brother died 3yrs ago now and since then Chris has taken it very hard, he confided in me recently that his step father and step brother had been abusing him, and I guess this is what led him to drink & drugs all those years ago.

My other brothers & sisters have nothing to do with him, and they are out of the way in Cornwall, as I am his closest relative now he has started to turn to me when he gets in a state.

I am happy to try and help him, but I do not think he helps himself, he gets a long term girlfriend, which gets me some breathing space, but sadly even they give up on him in the end. Who can blame them.

Because of his reliance on alcohol & drugs (he has used heroin in the past I believe and is to my knowledge using Cocaine & Canabiss Resin at the moment) and his new found wealth(his father left him over 30k and Chris has asked me to look afterr it for him, which I thought was a sensible request) He is drinking and doing drugs regularly.

He can’t sleep at night and starts to text me, when I am thinking of going to bed, and laying on the panic stations, saying he can’t cope anymore he wants to lay down go to sleep and not wake up.