He’s 3 years sober… Now I’m struggling

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      tiredandtested
      Participant

Hi guys,

I’m hoping someone can help! This may be a long one, so please be patient… I’ve been holding a lot in!

Hubby and I have been together for 20years, he’s been a high functioning alcoholic for the first 17 years,we’ve got 2 children (16&19). Those years were filled with his drinking, mostly openly but often in secret (well, so he thought. I was an expert in knowing even before he’d opened his mouth). Every second of my days were filled with worrying what lay ahead, how to hide it from the kids, how to appease him until he had sobered up, then how to argue my case so he could see just how we were all being damaged. This list goes on… But the whole time it was always my complaining about his drinking that was making our lives a misery. If I just didn’t nag then everything would be ok.

Fast forward to the time we spent in couples counselling, and in a one to one session she validated my suffering and that felt like the green light I needed to say Enough was Enough. She said we wouldn’t not be able to seek couples counselling until his drinking was under control. So, eventually he read Allan Carr’s book, and simply gave up… Literally just stopped.

He was very clear that he didn’t want to say he would NEVER drink again, because the pressure would be touch. He had a couple of telephone counselling sessions but didn’t feel the need for anymore, and now the rest, as they say, is history.