Teenage Daughter on drugs

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      vj7489
      Participant

Hi everyone. I am new to this, the situation and the forum. I have a 16 year old daughter who in February I found out had been smoking cannabis. At the time she was studying for her GCSE’s, her behaviour at school was appalling and she was on the verge of being expelled. I did this stupid thing of stating that I would not have drugs under my roof and that if she wanted to go down that path she could move out. The following evening she came home even more stoned than before which I took as an “up yours mum” so I threw her out. She went to her dads. Lockdown happened, I phoned her every day and she came to stay regularly, but she did stay at dads, and she did lay off the drugs as she couldn’t go out. Now she is back in the thick of it, she’s now progressed onto pills and maybe other stuff I’m not aware of. She has had a few emotional meltdowns (following a heavy night) where she has stated she is very unhappy. She is now seeing a drug counsellor once a week and is 3 weeks in. It’s been arranged for us to have some mediation. I also told her I wanted her home. So I have accepted she takes drugs, I have allowed her to continue with this, although I am not funding it. But whenever she doesn’t want to abide by the house rules, curfews etc, she goes AWOL, stays at dads or friends. She refuses to answer my calls or texts so I’m often going to bed worried out of my mind. Her dad has a completely different parenting style to me, she prefers being there as he has no boundaries, he gives her money, easier than spending time with her. But they fight a lot, when she’s there for solid periods of time I often get messages from him saying he’s thrown her out and she’s not welcome, which is why I wanted her home mostly, I don’t want her to be subject to this and thought I could manage it, but seems she would rather have that than live by my rules (I’m not talking strict rules here, just bein